Calaway, Terry

Terry Calaway, president Ref#12268

Dr. Terry Calaway recently retired from Johnson County Community College after 36 successful years in the community college world, the final 11 years as a community college CEO. During his tenure, Dr. Calaway led two different colleges (Central Arizona College and Johnson County Community College) in their efforts to reach the pinnacle of success and quality. Each of these two outstanding colleges was a pilot school in the Higher Learning Commission - Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP) which focuses on improvement of college academics, business practices, and overall operations. At Johnson County Community College Dr. Calaway led efforts to renew and revitalize curriculum, and evaluate programs and services which resulted in significant enrollment growth and increases in student success and completion.  He initiated a center for innovation designed to provide a venue for faculty and staff to explore ideas centered on a concept of appreciative inquiry.

Dr. Calaway also provided executive leadership to the National Community College Benchmark Project, a nationally recognized, voluntary data collection collaborative of over 450 colleges which provides baseline data for program growth and improvement.

Among his other achievements are:

  • Recognition by faculty and staff for a collaborative and dynamic leadership style
  • Assessment and development of new degree programs
  • A focus on learner engagement and success resulting in increased enrollment and student completion/retention rates
  • Revision of articulation and transfer with state universities
  • Dramatic improvements in organizational culture
  • Development of significant partnerships with local employers and K-12 school districts

With more than 60,000 students enrolled in credit and continuing education classes each semester, Johnson County Community College is the state's largest undergraduate institution with an annual budget of $230 million.

Dr. Calaway holds a doctorate in education administration from The University of Texas at Austin.